Archive for May 20th, 2024

Monday, 20 May 2024

Innards by Karen Mandell

The piano tuner unearths seven pencils,
a photo of mother and son from twenty-five
years back. He weaves red ribbons
between the strings and places small tools
on the soundboard to mute some sounds,
highlight others. He plays a key, a chord, a scale,
putting the sounded notes back into line,
like children lined up at school,
straightening, regulating, sharper, flatter.
He equalizes the temperament and now
the keys are pitch perfect,
potentially solid for a good year.
I wish I could be adjusted so precisely,
Back moved into alignment, curved just so,
neck put into position, the internal organs
patched, positioned. And an even temperament!
Not to be so sharp some days, so flat
And dispirited on others. Sunny and happy
enough, no rages and recriminations.
I would find solace in myself,
a refuge and a home within.
I need a tuner, a fine tuner to keep me on pitch.

From: https://vallummag.com/vallum-chapbook-award-2022-finalist-karen-mandell-the-clothesline-series/

Date: 2022

By: Karen Mandell (19??- )