Liberty by Paul Éluard (Eugène Émile Paul Grindel)

On my schoolboy’s notebook
On my desk and on the trees
On the sand on the snow
I write your name

On all the pages read
On all the blank pages
Stone blood paper ash
I write your name

On the gilded images
On warriors’ weapons
On the crown of the kings
I write your name

On the jungle the desert
On nests on reeds
On the echo of my childhood
I write your name

On the night’s wonders
The white bread of days
On the linked seasons
I write your name

On each blue scrap of noon
On the pond moldy sun
On the lake living moon
I write your name

On the sky on the meadows
On the wings of birds
On the millwheel of shadows
I write your name

On the foam of the clouds
On the sweat of the storm
On the rain thick and bleak
I write your name

On every shining form
On the bells of the colors
On physical truth
I write your name

On the paths awakening
On the roads unwinding
On the crowded places
I write your name

On the lamp that is bright
On the lamp that goes dark
On my united houses
I write your name

On the fruit cut in two
Of my mirror and chamber
On my bed’s hollow shell
I write your name

On my fond greedy dog
On his pricked ears his paws
As clumsy as thumbs
I write your name

On my doorway’s springboard
On the familiar objects
On the blest hearthfire
I write your name

On all flesh yielded
On the foreheads of friends
On each hand that extends
I write your name

On the pane of surprise
On the lips that listen
Well above the silence
I write your name

On my refuge that crumbles
My beacon-tower that falls
On ennui’s walls
I write your name

On absence on nude
Solitude on each tread
Of the stair of the dead
I write your name

And on health rekindling
On danger dwindling
On hope without remembrance
I write your name

And by the power of a word
My life returns to me
I am born again to know you
And to name you

Liberty.

Note: This poem, written during the German Occupation of France in World War II, was dropped over Occupied France by the RAF.

From: https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poetrymagazine/browse?contentId=24289

Date: 1942 (original in French) 1945 (translation in English)

By: Paul Éluard (Eugène Émile Paul Grindel) (1895-1952)

Translated by: George Hill Dillon (1906-1968)

Leave a Reply

