If I Was by Mark Waldron

If I was,

I don’t know, walking down, say, a street
and I happened to come across

a group of, I don’t know, firemen
who were fighting, say, a fire,

then I might imagine, might I not,
their fire hose to be a long and beige salami.

And then I might imagine, might I not,
that I could take a slice of that salami,

that I could peel it of its ring of canvas skin
and then I’d have a lens,

the freshest monocle through which,
if I held it to my open eye, I’d probably see

a group of firemen with a cut hose
shouting angrily.

From: http://www.poetrymagazines.org.uk/magazine/record.asp?id=25850

Date: 2009

By: Mark Waldron (1960 – )

One Comment to “If I Was by Mark Waldron”

  1. I am impressed by his latest book. He seems to fit in alongside my other favourites like John Stammers, maybe Frances Leviston is in there too, and Sam Buchan-Watts.

Leave a Reply

