A Song on a Lady and Her Chamber-Maid by William Hickes

A Chamber-Maid was got with Child;
For which her Lady did call her Whore,
And said that sh’ad her house defil’d,
And vow’d she’d turn her out a door.
Who got the Child, says she, you Jade?
Your Husband, and please you, Madam.
Why where, you Whore? Forsooth, she said,
In the Trucklebed a Hadham.

Why where was I? I’ll know the truth:
Come tell me, or else I’ll make ye.
In the high bed fast asleep, forsooth,
And I was afraid to wake ye.
Why did you not cry out, you Drab,
When first you saw he begun it?
Truly, forsooth, I was never a Blab
Of my Tongue: Wou’d you a done it?

And besides, forsooth, you know
That I your humour know too well,
That if you’re suddenly wakt, you’ll throw
And tear like to a Fiend of Hell.
Nay, you’ll cry out with loud Alarms,
And fling what your fingers touches,
That I’d rather be in my Masters Arms,
Than ever to come in your Clutches.

Why did you not then sooner go,
You errant Quean, before ’twas known?
Truly, Madam, ’tis even so,
Because that you had none a your own.
And indeed, Madam, the truth to tell,
I think I well did plot it,
Imagining you would use it well
For his dear sake that got it.

From: Hickes, William, Grammatical drollery consisting of poems & songs wherein the rules of the nouns & verbs in the accendence are pleasantly made easy, for the benefit of any that delight in a tract of this nature, 2009, Text Creation Partnership: Ann Arbor, Michigan and Oxford, pp. 38-39.
(http://name.umdl.umich.edu/A43692.0001.001)

Date: 1682

By: William Hickes (fl. 1671)

Leave a Reply

