Thoughe I Seeme Straunge Sweet Freende Be Thou Not So by Anne Vavasour Field Richardson

Thoughe I seeme straunge sweete freende be thou not so
Do not annoy thy selfe with sullen will
Myne harte hathe voude allthoughe my tongue saye noe
To be thyne owne in freendly liking styll
Thou seeste me live amongest the Lynxes eyes
That pryes innto each privy thoughte of mynde
Thou knowest ryghte well what sorrows may aryse
Ife once they chaunce my setled lookes to fynde
Contente thy selfe that once I made an othe
To sheylde my selfe in shrowde of honest shame
And when thou lyste make tryall of my trouthe
So that thou save the honoure of my name
And let me seme althoughe I be not coye
To cloak my sadd conceyts with smylinge cheere
Let not my jestures showe wherein to joye
Nor by my lookes let not my loue appeere.
We seely dames that falles suspecte, do feare
And live within the moughte of envyes lake
Muste in oure heartes a secrete meaning beare
Far from the reste whiche outwardlye we make
Go where I lyke, I lyste not vaunte my love
where I desyre there moste I fayne debate
One hathe my hande an other hathe my glove,
But he my harte whome I seeme most to hate
Then farewell freende I will continue straunge
Thou shalt not heere by worde or writinge oughte
Let it suffice my vowe shall never chaunge
As for the rest I leave yt to thy thoughte.

From: Stevenson, Jane and Davidson, Peter (ed.), Early Modern Women Poets (1520-1700): An Anthology, 2001, Oxford University Press: Oxford, pp. 79-80.
(https://books.google.com.au/books?id=EynvtQmeW-kC)

Date: 1585

By: Anne Vavasour Field Richardson (c1560-c1650)

Leave a Reply

