Will Thow Remorsles Fair by James Sempill with rough rendering into almost modern English by flusteredduck

Will thow remorsles fair, still laughe whill I lament,
And sall thy cheefe contentment be, to see me mallecontent?
Sall I Narcissus lyke, ane flying shade still chaise
Or lyke Pigmaleon straine a stone, quhilk bare no sence of grace
No! no, my blind love now, must burrow reassonnes eyes
It was thy fairnes made me sounde, zour wrong name [now] mak me [wise]
My just desert’s disdaines to love ane loveles dame,
The lyfe of Cupidis fyre confides, Into ane mutuall flame
[For] gave thow but a looke, or gave thow but a smyle
Ore sent thow furth but ane sweit siche, my sorrow to begyle,
My captives thouchts perhaps myght be redeem’d from pane
And thois my mutineris malecontents, mycht freinds with hoip agane
But thow as it appears, still cairles of my gude
And as it seem’s wald eternize, thy bewtie with my bloode,
Ane great disgrace to the, to me ane monstrous wrong,
Quhilk tyme will teache the to repent, befoir that it be long,
Then, to prevente thy schame, and to abraidge my woe,
Becaus thow will noucht love thy freinde I’le cease to luve my foe.

Will Thou Remorseless Fair by James Sempill

Will thou remorseless fair, still laugh while I lament,
And shall thy chief contentment be, to see me malcontent?
Shall I Narcissus like, one flying shade still chase
Or like Pygmalion strain a stone, which bears no sense of grace
No! no, my blind love now, must borrow reason’s eyes
It was thy fairness made me sound, your wrong name now make me wise
My just deserts disdains to love one loveless dame,
The life of Cupid’s fire confides, into one mutual flame
For give thou but a look, or give thou but a smile
Or sent thou forth but one sweet sigh, my sorrow to beguile
My captive’s thoughts perhaps might be redeemed from pain
And these my mutinous malcontents, might friends with hope again
But thou as it appears, still careless of my good
And as it seems would eternalise, thy beauty with my blood,
One great disgrace to thee, to me one monstrous wrong,
Which time will teach thee to repent, before that it be long,
Then, to prevent thy shame, and to abridge my woe,
Because thou will not love thy friend I’ll cease to love my foe.

From: Sempill, Robert and Sempill, James, The Sempill Ballates. A series of historical, political, and satirical Scotish Poems, ascribed to Robert Sempill. M.D.LXVII.—M.D.LXXXIII. To which are added Poems by Sir James Semple of Beltrees, M.D.XCVIII-M.DC.X. Now for the first time printed, 1872, Thomas George Stevenson: Edinburgh, p. 253.
(https://archive.org/stream/sempillballatess00semp#page/252/mode/2up)

Date: c1604

By: James Sempill (1566-1625)

Leave a Reply

