Now That Ye Be Assembled Here by Margaret Howard Stewart

Now that ye be assembled here,
All ye my friends at my request,
Specially you, my father dear,
That of my blood are the nearest,
This unto you is my request,
That ye will patiently hear
By these my last words expressed,
My testament entire.

And think not to interrupt me
For suchwise provided have I
That though ye willed it will not be.
This tower ye see is strong and high,
And the doors fast barred have I
That no wight my purpose let should.
For to be queen of all Italy
Not one day longer live I would.

Wherefore, sweet father, I you pray,
Bear this my death with patience,
And torment not your hairs grey
But freely pardon mine offence
Since it proceedeth of lover’s fervence
And of my heart’s constancy.
Let me not from the sweet presence
Of him that I have caused to die.

From: Weir, Alison, The Lost Tudor Princess: A Life of Margaret Douglas, Countess of Lennox, 2015, Random House: London, Chapter 6.
(https://books.google.com.au/books?id=0u6-CQAAQBAJ)

Date: 1538

By: Margaret Douglas Stewart (1515-1578)

Leave a Reply

