Farewell, That Was My Lef So Dere by ‘Alia’ with almost modern English rendering by flusteredduck

Farewell, that was my lef so dere,
Fro her that loved you so well.
Ye were my lef from yere to yere:
Wheder I were your I connot tell.
To you I have byn trew and lell
At all tymes unto this day;
And now I say farewell, farewelle,
I tak my lef for ever and ay.

Your lof, forsoth, ye have not lost:
If ye loved me, I loved you, iwys
Bot that I put you to gret cost;
Therfor I have you clipt and kist
Bot now, my luf, I most nedes sesse
And tak me to hym that me has tan.
Therfor tak ye another wher ye list:
I giv you good lef, sertayn

Gif ye me licence to do the same.
This tokyn truly I you betak
In remenbrance of my name.
Send me a tokyn for my sake.
Wheder it be send erly or late,
I shall it kepe for old qwayntance
And now to Crist I you betake
To save and kepe in wert and sance.

Farewell, That Was My Life So Dear by ‘Alia’ (modern English rendering by flusteredduck)

Farewell, that was my life so dear,
From her that loved you so well.
You were my life from year to year:
Whether I was yours I cannot tell.
To you I have been true and loyal
At all times until this day;
And now I say farewell, farewell.
I take my leave for ever and alway.

Your love, in truth, you have not lost:
If you loved me, I loved you, true

But that I put you to great cost;
Therefore I have you hugged and kissed
But now, my love, I must needs cease
And take me to him that me has taken.
Therefore take you another where you like:
I give you good leave, certain.

Give you me license to do the same.
This token truly I you give
In remembrance of my name.
Send me a token for my sake
Whether it be sent early or late,
I shall keep it for old acquaintance
And now to Christ I you give
To save and keep in wit and sense.

From: Stevenson, Jane and Davidson (eds), Peter, Early Modern Women Poets (1520-1700): An Anthology, 2001, Oxford University Press: Oxford, p. 1.
(https://books.google.com.au/books?id=EynvtQmeW-kC)

Date: c1500

By: ‘Alia’ (?-?)

Leave a Reply

