I Vex Me Not with Brooding on the Years by Thomas Bailey Aldrich

I vex me not with brooding on the years
That were ere I drew breath: why should I then
Distrust the darkness that may fall again
When life is done?    Perchance in other spheres–
Dead planets–I once tasted mortal tears,
And walked as now among a throng of men,
Pondering things that lay beyond my ken,
Questioning death, and solacing my fears.
Ofttimes indeed strange sense have I of this,
Vague memories that hold me with a spell,
Touches of unseen lips upon my brow,
Breathing some incommunicable bliss!
In years foregone, O Soul, was all not well?
Still lovelier life awaits thee.    Fear not thou!

From: http://www.public-domain-poetry.com/thomas-bailey-aldrich/i-vex-me-not-with-brooding-on-the-years-12689

Date: 1890

By: Thomas Bailey Aldrich (1836-1907)

Leave a Reply

