Amynta by Gilbert Elliot

My sheep I neglected, I broke my sheep-hook,
And all the gay haunts of my youth I forsook:
No more for Amynta fresh garlands I wove;
Ambition! said, would soon cure me of love.
But what had my youth with ambition to do?
Why left I Amynta? why broke I my vow?

Through regions remote in vain do I rove,
And hope the wide world will secure me from love.
Ah, fool to imagine that ought could subdue
A love so well founded, a passion so true!
Ah , give me my sheep, and my sheep-hook restore
And I’ll wander from love and Amynta no more!

Alas! ’tis too late at thy fate to repine!
Poor shepherd, Amynta no more can be thine!
Thy tears are all fruitless, thy wishes are vain!
The moments neglected return not again.
Ah! what had my youth with ambition to do?
Why left I Amynta? why broke I my vow?

From: Eusden, R. F., Specimens of English Verse, Selected Chiefly from Modern Poets: Preceded by Observations on English Versification, 1826, C. J. De Mat and H. Remy: Brussels, p. 142.
(https://books.google.com.au/books?id=Kx1cAAAAcAAJ)

Date: 1749

By: Gilbert Elliot (1722-1777)

Leave a Reply

