Phillis Inamorata by Lancelot Andrewes

Come, be my Valentine!
I’ll gather eglantine,
Cowslips and sops-in-wine,
With fragrant roses.
Down by thy Phillis sit,
She will white lilies will get
And white daffadilies fit
To make thee posies.

I have a milk-white lamb,
New-taken from the dam,
It comes where’er I am
When I call “Willy:”
I have a wanton kid
Under my apron hid,
A colt that ne’er was rid,
A pretty filly.

I bear in sign of love
A sparrow in my glove,
And in my breast a dove,
These shall all be thine:
Besides of sheep a flock,
Which yieldeth many a lock,
And this shall be thy stock:
Come be my Valentine!

From: http://www.bartleby.com/332/36.html

Date: ?

By: Lancelot Andrewes (1555-1626)

Leave a Reply

