Death Invoked by Philip Massinger

Why art thou slow, thou rest of trouble, Death,
To stop a wretch’s breath,
That calls on thee and offers her sad heart
A prey unto thy dart?
I am nor young nor fair; be, therefore, bold;
Sorrow hath made me old,
Deformed, and wrinkled; all that I can crave
Is quiet in my grave.
Such as live happy, hold long life a jewel,
But to me thou art cruel
If thou end not my tedious misery,
And I soon cease to be.
Strike, and strike home, then; pity unto me,
In one short hour’s delay, is tyranny.

From: http://www.luminarium.org/sevenlit/massinger/emperor1.htm

Date: 1631

By: Philip Massinger (1583-1640)

Leave a Reply

