Sonnet XXVI by Malatesta dei Sonneti Malatesta

Dead is the sacred bride, she who maintained
My spirit whole, at peace and satisfied;
In heaven she, and I in grief abide,
Another man than who I was, I waned.
No man, but beast, I should have thought it best
To follow her fine form, now cold with death
Nor e’er depart her side at her last breath,
But burn in fire, there where her heart did rest.
To follow her my soul should have agreed
To heaven’s triumph, where she now resides
Until the end of time, as God decreed.
And even though my strength hardly suffices
For me to join her there, would that at least
My body would be laid by her blest ashes.

From: http://freelanceacademypress.wordpress.com/2011/10/12/the-despots-lament-love-poetry-malatesta-style/

Date: 1405

By: Malatesta dei Sonneti Malatesta (1370-1429)

Translated by: Tommaso Leoni (1966- )

Leave a Reply

