Music by Charles Baudelaire

Music uplifts me like the sea and races
Me to my distant star,
Through veils of mist or through ethereal spaces,
I sail on it afar.

With chest flung out and lungs like sails inflated
Into the depth of night
I escalade the backs of waves serrated,
That darkness veils from sight.

I feel vibrating in me the emotions
That storm-tossed ships must feel.
The fair winds and the tempests and the oceans

Sway my exultant keel.
Sometimes a vast, dead calm with glassy stare
Mirrors my dumb despair.

From: http://fleursdumal.org/poem/175

Date: 1857 (translated 1952)

By: Charles Baudelaire (1821-1867)

Translated by: Roy Campbell (1901-1957)

Leave a Reply

